So Let’s Talk…. Stage Kisses

Even as I type this, I really wonder if this is a wise topic to open with. Sure, it’ll get everyone’s attention, but it’s so awkward! But as a source for TKs, this’ll be useful, right? So…. here goes.

Learning how to kiss on stage is a totally uncomfortable experience. Actually doing it during a show or rehearsal isn’t half bad, probably because you’re in character, but when you’re you and your partner is your partner, things get…. awkward (I’m sensing that I’m going to be using this word a lot during this post). A wonderful director of mine went out of her way to break it down into steps for my castmate and me and it really helped to diminish the uncomfortable situation that this art forced us in, but here is the number one thing to remember: this rehearsal (hopefully a private one with you, your castmate, and your director) will not be comfortable for anyone. But it has to be done. SO!

  1. If you know what this specific rehearsal will entail, PLEASE brush your teeth that morning, or use mouthwash, or those little Listerine spray things, it doesn’t matter. Your partner will GREATLY appreciate the not-horrible taste coming from your mouth. And hopefully, your castmate will do the same for you 🙂
  2. Resist the temptation to giggle. I know, I know, laughter tends to break out at rehearsals, especially when getting down to the wire, but you wouldn’t like it if your partner laughed at you when you were trying to kiss them would you? It’s like an ego thing, I think. Not nice. Don’t do it. — I’m going to add a little postscript to this: RELAX. Your partner is just as nervous as you are and the faster you can just kiss and get it over with, the more comfortable you’ll be. It’s just a fact of this industry, that there will be things that seem awkward simply to immerse an audience in this art.
  3. Respect your director and be professional. At least as much as possible. One of the biggest compliments I’ve ever received when working stage kisses was when my director commended my castmate and me for not making a bigger deal about it than it was. We just went in there and did what we had to do. Yes, kissing is kissing is… kissing. But it’s for the THEATAH, DAHLING. So it’s totes worth it.
  4. Take your time. This is probably the most important tip of all. If you rush it, it’ll be awkward and you two might bump noses or teeth and then you might bleed all over each other and then it’ll just be bad. And then, if you rush, you may not have adequate time to build the chemistry necessary for a realistic interpretation of the characters. Because, again, you’re not doing this thing for yourself (unless you and your castmate fall in love with each other or something), you’re doing it for them. The audience.
Memphis_Final_Performance
Memphis Mini-Musical @ Emerson College Fall 2015

P.S. (Keep in mind that any show you do that involves kissing and someone who is a different colour than you (like Elphaba and Fiyero), there will be a transference of stage makeup to the other person’s face. I tried not to be too offended when my castmate wiped his face after we kissed.)

Comments? Questions? Concerns? Contact me here or at the addresses listed below!

Twitter: @theatredblog/@kraioloa
Email: theatredistrictblog@gmail.com/kraioloa17@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment